Coming up ……

Apologies if I appear to have been uncharacteristically silent over the past few days, but I’ve found the current crop of films totally resistable!  I wouldn’t inflict anything from The Twilight Saga on anybody and I’d prefer to remember the TV version of Tintin from my childhood than see the new 3D version.

But in just over a week, there’s a cluster of very promising-looking movies being released on the same day, so my reviews will start flowing again.

Top of the list is a new film version of Terence Rattigan’s The Deep Blue Sea.  It continues this year’s Rattigan’s celebrations and was the final film at the London Film Festival.  Starring Rachel Weisz and Simon Russell Beale, from the trailer it looks handsomely intense, so I have high hopes.

My Week With Marilyn is based on the making of less-than-successful The Prince And The Showgirl, which starred Laurence Olivier and Marilyn Monroe.  It looks something of a Britfest, with Kenneth Branagh (playing Olivier), Michael Kitchen, Toby Jones, Zoe Wanamaker and Dame Judi (as Sybil Thorndike, no less), plus Michelle Williams as Marilyn.  Director Simon Curtis is best-known for his TV work, including A Short Stay In Switzerland, so I’m interested to see how he handles the move to the big screen.

Last, but by no means least, Moneyball stars Brad Pitt as a baseball manager trying to put together a team on a budget – on the face of it, not the most inspiring subject, especially for an English audience.  But it has plenty going for it.  Pitt is joined by Robin Wright and Philip Seymour Hoffman, whose name on a cast list is fast becoming reason enough for me to see a movie.  Director Bennett Miller’s previous – and most recent – offering was Capote, which won Hoffman his Best Actor Oscar, and the screenplay should benefit from the magic touch of Aaron Sorkin, the brains behind The West Wing’s razor sharp dialogue.

After these comes the cinematic desert that is otherwise known as Christmas.  Year after year, I have hoped that distributors might give us grown-ups a second thought and schedule something other than total family fodder – but to no avail.  This year, however, might be slightly better, as the Hollywood version of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo opens on Boxing Day.  I’ll admit straight away that I’ve not read the book – there’s still time! – but what appeals to me is that the man behind the camera is that most intelligent of directors, David Fincher.  So I may find myself moving from the small screen to the big one during the holiday after all……

Leave a Reply

