As Quoted On Radio Four

Is there, I’m beginning to wonder, some kind of telepathic link between myself and The King’s Speech?

At the start of the year, Radio Four’s Film Progamme asked listeners to keep a film diary for a fortnight and then send it in.  One of my entries was about The King’s Speech and I was astonished when the show carried my entire review on its website.  At that point it dawned on me that I might make a half-decent film critic – and the rest, as they say, is The Coops Review.

Then, a few days ago, I heard via Facebook that Saturday Review was planning a look-back at the cultural year, to be broadcast on Christmas Eve, and wanted contributions from listeners.  On the basis that it would have been rude not to, I nominated The King’s Speech as my film of the year, Kevin Spacey’s Richard III at The Old Vic as my theatrical production of the year (adding that “Spacey was nearly licking his lips with relish in the lead role”) and Stephen Kelman’s Booker-nominated Pigeon English as my book of the year.

To my delight, The King’s Speech came up trumps again, complete with name check!  Not only that, but I then went on to complete the hat trick, with presenter Tom Sutcliffe mentioning my nomination for Richard III, complete with lip-licking reference, and finishing by quoting me on Pigeon English as well!

The programme’s now on iPlayer http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qh6g and there’s also a podcast to download.

So what are the chances of them giving me a job …..??!!

Leave a Reply

